Coffee Talk

First and foremost, you might have noticed a bit of a drought in my posts. This is because big changes are underway here at the MTO Headquarters. More to come on that front in the coming weeks…

But first,

Like every Saturday morning this winter, the routine is that I take Addison to gymnastics and TaekwonDo with Matthew in tow while the boys (Chris and Jake) head to skating lessons.  And on our way, my car practically stops on autopilot at Dunkin’ Donuts for my first caffeine fix of the day.  Just as I have each week, this past weekend I had to remind Addison only 12 times that this was a coffee only pit stop because Dunkin’ Donuts only sells doughnuts after 10 a.m. And anyways, a belly full of munchkins minutes prior to hours of tumbling and chopping is a recipe for disaster.  This time however, Addison must have decided that enough was enough with my patronizing lies.  This week, she decided to take matters into her own hands.

As we pull to the order window, I roll down my window and routinely order my medium french vanilla regular. As always, the speaker shouts back at me with the the usual,

“Will that be all?”

And just as I’m about to pull forward – much to my surprise, I hear a voice chime in from the  depths of the backseat of the minivan, loud and clear,

“Nope. We’ll also have 5 sprinkle munchkins please!”

Turning around I see Addison unbuckled (clear sign of premeditation) hanging out the back window which she rolled down on her own, to place her strategically timed addition to my order.  Trumping her order with my supernatural mom powers, I chime in,

“No doughnuts – just the coffee please – sorry about that.”

And that was that. Or so I thought.

But as we pull to the next window, I’m waiting with my window open and my money in-hand for my morning elixir and the worker seems very distracted by some activity behind me. Sure enough, Addison is hanging out the back window yet again speaking in a controlled whisper with her pointer finger darting back and fourth at the worker saying,

“Hey, you. Yeah. I’m over here. Shhhh – can you just give me a  doughnut. Just a couple sprinkle munchkins please. C’mon. Just grab one for me – shhhhhh.”

Much to her dismay and despite her best efforts – no doughnuts were exchanged that day. But a little piece of me still felt totally and utterly defeated in the thought that my 5 year old had almost outsmarted me for the first of what I’m sure will be many times over.  And it was only 9:30 a.m. And I hadn’t even had my coffee yet.

Have you ever been duped yet by your kids? If so, I’d love to hear it. Somehow, your shame will probably help make mine more palatable.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee Talk

  1. bpasso says:

    You’ve had your lesson on the reasons for child-proof windows!

  2. Denise says:

    I just read your most recent post and actually laughed out loud!!! Your not going to pull the wool over her eyes! My granddaughter is brilliant!

  3. Maria says:

    I love it!

Leave a Reply

