Camp is where the heart is

Our fridge is our primary source of news and important information in our home. It displays everything from school lunch menus to Preschool registration papers and bills, doubles as a photo and art gallery, and even serves as a learning center, where the kids are constantly arranging letter magnets into new words and patterns.

Many people spend time gazing in the fridge – I spend hours a week gazing at the fridge. At the random assortment of organized chaos that is our lifeline in our house.  Today, something there caught my eye that made me feel a twinge of nostalgia.

As I do every night, I double checked the color coded maze of an excel spreadsheet also known as this summer’s schedule. With three kids, each with different activities each day, its a miracle we (and by we, I mean he  – as in the husband) gets the right kid to the right place on the right day.

But today, this schedule suddenly made me nostalgic for the things I miss most about summer from my own childhood. Because like every other Jewish kid on the East Coast, I went to a sleep away summer camp.  Mine was called Med-O-lark – up in Maine down a dirt road with no trace.   For me, summer camp was where I really became me.  Where I kissed a boy for the first time. Where I sang on a stage for the first (and last) time.  Where I learned how to sail a boat, play foosball, wash my own clothes, appreciate Jamaican lemonade, write letters (yes – on actual stationary) and make lifelong friends. I spent 7 amazing summers at this home away from home and have heard over the years about many former campers and friends that have gone on to become uber successful entrepreneurs, screen writers, musicians and actors.  And I’m not surprised.  This place bred magical things.

So when I got a note just yesterday from an old camp friend, who wrote to tell me she was thinking of me as she packed up her own boys up for summer camp, I got a little sad. I miss what camp used to be for me.  And I hope that my children will one day be able to have the same incredible experiences I once had at summer camp.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Camp is where the heart is

  1. Sibylle Kim says:

    OMG, that camp looks amazing! Only 3 more years and then I can send both my kids off and taste freedom again.

  2. Janet Terranova says:

    I too got warm and fuzzies reading your latest post about my summer camp memories. I also checked out the camp- looks AMAZING. I want to go for the summer- so much to do.
    p.s. glad to have you back on line

  3. Barb Passo says:

    Stainless steel refrigerators are just not all they’re cracked up to be!

  4. ilyse says:

    med- o – Lark – what memories! Remember the Mustard seed?

    Love the blog – keep ’em coming!

Leave a Reply

