The Pizza Pick-Up Perfect Storm

Yesterday I did something Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad.  And my name isn’t even Alexander.  Let me paint the picture for you:

Weather: 93 degrees

Mood: Grouchy from road rage with a hunger induced headache

Outfit: Cuffed boyfriend jeans and a cute new tank from Target

5:12: Left the office

5:45: Called in pizzas.  Meeting friends for picnic at the park

6:42: Arrived home…yes I have a horrible commute

6:43: Power fed Matthew.  Poor baby literally hung onto to my boob for dear life as I ran around the kitchen throwing together plates, napkins & water bottles in a backpack

6:45: Stripped off office shirt and replaced with said cute Target tank

6:47: Nebulized Addison (Bad asthma day)

6:50: Torch passed from husband to wife so husband could leave (with a cooler full of beer) to “play baseball”

6:55: Buckled kids into mini-van after minor meltdown over shoes. Crocks are not allowed for bike riding at the park

6:57: Baby falls asleep

7:00: Arrive at pizzeria.  And – wait for it – left 5 month-old-baby and 4-year old daughter in car all by themselves unattended – to run in and grab the pizzas. Car did remain in sight at all times *sort of*

And therein lies the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad offense.

But really, I did what every mom of more than one child with multiple car seats and only two hands has contemplated doing on many occasions.  Yes, I could have taken baby and hooked his 27 lb. car seat over one arm – holding Addison’s resistant little hand with the same arm and balanced 2 large cheese pizzas in the other.  But, I still had a few additional challenges to factor in to the equation.  1) The high tantrum risk factor of the 25-cent-candy-machine-meltdown which is always placed right by the door as a universally evil move by all store owners to taunt parents. Who actually ever lets their kids eat candy from those things anyway? And 2) Waking up baby who if you refer to the time stamp above just recently fell asleep and was still in prime will-wake-up-easily mode and was poised for optimal sleep time so that I too could sit and enjoy pizza.  So, all in all, I was dealing with the perfect storm of pizza-pickup.

So I ask you, my judge and jury. Was that a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad thing to do? Let me know what you think.  Or, even better – what would you have done?

G’ahead, I can take it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Pizza Pick-Up Perfect Storm

  1. Barb Passo says:

    Grandmothers shouldn’t read this one!

  2. Diane Nuger says:

    Oh my g-d Becky, you are so lucky a police didn’t come by, or one of those nosy people. I hope you at least left the air on….
    Okay, that is one thing as a parent I never ever did. I would have had the pizza delivered. Or gone to the restaurants that bring the food out to car.
    SORRY!

  3. Aunt Bess Cohen says:

    Hi Becky, the most adorable website I ever clicked on. Don’t have that “Mommy Guilt”, Our kids are ALL grown up and I still order Pizza, Too! I just don’t have all the other sweet stuff you have to contend with! I chuckled All the dance time @ Addi’s rhythymic antics. She doesn’t need other music! Adorable! Shades of times I used to SEW Bonnie’s Recital costumes! What wonderful electronic times you kids have now to preserve all their Childhood memories on DVD! Jake is so grown up and sooo handsome. Matthew is so sweet and so huggable! Thank you, thank you. I get to see these munchkins any time I want! Bless them and you and Chris.. Lots of love xxxx Aunt Bess

  4. Catherine says:

    Ok, here’s how I’d judge this one. Locked with windows adequately cracked, yet not competely opened = sanity for you and safety for the kids and admitedly that’s what I just did to grab the dry cleaning this week. Yeah – like I can hoist a car seat in one hand, the toddler in the other and hold the drycleaning with the other….oh, wait. 😛

  5. Kara says:

    I can still remember the first time I left Justin (first born) in the car. I was at the ATM on Main Street getting cash. In the past, I had carried the infant carrier with him in it inside with me; but for whatever reason, that day I gave it some thought. Did I really need to take him in with me? I was going to be in and out in less than a minute. If no one was at the ATM I could pull right up front and would literally be steps from him. My next thought was should I leave the car running so he could stay cool with the AC on or turn it off so I could protect him further by locking the car? It’s tough in the suburbs of North Reading (ha ha), so I figured safety first, comfort later.

    That day I did park right in front of the ATM door, almost on the sidewalk. I turned off my car, grabbed the keys, locked the doors, and gave Justin a quick glance as I dashed into the ATM. My heart raced as I looked around to see if anyone was watching me, judging me for taking the easy way. No less than a minute later I was in the car, money in hand. Justin was right where I had left him, not knowing the difference. He had survived.

    Today (nine years later) I know many spots in North Reading that you can dash into while still seeing your kids in the car. Beyond Bagels, you can park and see clearly out their picture window. Colonial Cleaners, next to the Hornets Nest, not a lot of parking, but great view of your car when you do get a space. Andreas Pizza, well goes without saying.

    So I guess I no longer worry about feeling judged as I run into the ATM with three kids in the car. Screw ’em they can save their judgement for when I leave them home alone!

  6. Herbie says:

    Did the same thing with you.Just made sure you were sleeping so you would not be scared.

  7. Debbie says:

    Your pizza saga brings back many memories. While I don’t remember what I wore (I love your inserting this into the story!), I do remember the ‘was I a bad mom?’ thoughts.

  8. Ilyse says:

    LOL!!! Loved this one – I think you are fearless! Can’t count the times I’ve had the same guilt feelings…13 years of mommying and I still feel like the learning curve just keeps getting steeper. It’s nice not to be the only one.

  9. Shelly Outwater says:

    I’ve so done the exact same thing. In fact, when I drop Josh off at school, I always leave the girls in the car. The car is locked, and not in view from the road (and its a small private school). I can’t actually see the car once I’m in the school…but what are seriously the chances in Westford that someone will drive around the school, decide to break into my car, break-in, get the car started and leave. I suppose it is possible. But, I’m pretty sure they’d abort the mission after listening to just a minute of the twins screaming at them – especially Leah’s blood curdling scream. And frankly, any nosy passer-by that feels the need to interject their feelings about it has NEVER had kids and had to dealt with all the craziness that a simple drop-off or pizza pick-up entails.

  10. jess says:

    I don’t think you should feel an ounce of guilt for this! They were in clear sight and you only ran in quickly. Our parents did this all the time. You are a great mom! You wouldn’t have done it if you doubted they were safe.

  11. Erin says:

    I leave my kids (3, 2, 1) in the car at least once a day when I run in to get a soda from a gas station, etc. I would be a prisoner otherwise. Fuuny blog!!! (Ilyse’s HS friend)

  12. Monica says:

    I’d say not guilty. Sure, I’m not a mom myself, but I’m sure (I know) my mom did stuff like this all the time when I was little. Maybe yours did too. And look, we’re fine!

Leave a Reply

